top of page



Holy Baptism is the basis of the whole Christian life, the gateway to life in the Spirit and the door which gives access to the other sacraments. Through Baptism we are freed from sin and reborn as daughters and sons of God; we become members of Christ, are incorporated in to the Church and made sharers in her mission: “Baptism is the sacrament of regeneration through water and in the word.”

Four symbols in the Rite of Baptism express different realities of the sacrament. These special symbols are water, oil, a white garment, and a lighted candle.

  • Water: Cleansing and Life-Giving

  • Oil: Healing, Strengthening, and Being Chosen

  • A White Garment: Becoming a New Creation

  • A Lighted Candle: Sharing in the Light of Christ

Baptisms are scheduled throughout the year.  Parents must attend a Baptism Prep class, which is offered the 2nd Thursday of every month.


To make arrangements for a baptism, please contact the Parish Office by calling 371-9632 or by emailing our Parish Secretary at

First Eucharist

First Eucharist

The Sacrament of the Eucharist, is the ultimate sign of Christ’s presence in our midst; the sharing of bread and wine, consecrated as Jesus’ own body and blood and offered by Jesus out of love for the whole world. Receiving the Eucharist for the first time represents the fullness of Christian initiation by most closely uniting the person with the mystery of Jesus.

Through the Eucharist, Jesus continues to be present to us today as he was to the Apostles at the Last Supper: at the table with his friends, in the bread and the wine, and in the sharing of life, sacrificing, and finding of new life by his body and blood. And through the Eucharist, those who receive the body of Christ are strengthened to be the body of Christ for others in their life.

Preparation for First Eucharist (and First Reconciliation) is family based and begins in the 2nd grade year. Children preparing for a sacrament should have completed at least one prior year of Faith Formation.


For more information contact Rachel Collet at See the Faith Formation section of this website for more information on First Eucharist and First Reconciliation Preparation.



Through the sacrament of Confirmation, the church affirms the view that growth in the Spirit is a continuing, lifelong journey.

In the Rite of Confirmation, the bishop or priest prays that these seven special gifts will grow in the candidates:

  • wisdom

  • understanding

  • right judgment

  • courage

  • knowledge

  • reverence

  • wonder and awe in God’s presence

Who may be confirmed? In Roman Catholicism, Confirmation requires full intention and willingness. Besides being baptized and being of the age of discretion (grade 10), a person must be the following:

  • Willing to profess the Catholic faith

  • In a state of grace, that is, forgiven of any grave sins through Baptism or the sacrament of Reconciliation

  • Intending to receive the sacrament

  • Willing to take on the role of a disciple of Christ.

A prerequisite for Confirmation is completion of 9th grade and the first half of 10th grade Faith Formation.  Immediate Confirmation Prep begins in January of the 10th grade year and includes a mixture of in person sessions and a service retreat.

If your child attends a Catholic school, they should register in their home parish for immediate Confirmation preparation in grade 10. Attendance at sessions (beginning in January) and the retreat is required.


For more information contact Rachel Collet at See the Faith Formation section of this website for more information on Confirmation Preparation.



The Sacrament of Reconciliation, also called the Sacrament of Penance or Confession, celebrates the unfailing forgiveness that God extends to us.

Through this sacrament, we receive God’s mercy and forgiveness for our sins and are reconciled with God, with ourselves, and with the church.

The Sacrament of Reconciliation is offered on the second Saturday of the month at 3:45 pm in church or any time by appointment. Communal celebrations of the sacrament of Reconciliation are typically celebrated with our network parishes (St. Edward’s, Corpus Christi and All Saints on the Hudson) during Advent and during Lent. Please reach out to the parish office to schedule an appointment at (518) 371-9632.



The Sacrament of Matrimony is a sacred bond, or covenant, between a man and a woman that pledge to be faithful lifelong spouses, loving and caring for each other and lovingly raising and guiding the children they bring into the world.

Specifically, it celebrates a couple’s commitment to share their whole lives together and to reveal God’s love to themselves, their children, and others through their marriage relationship.

Couples who are planning to marry, should reach out to the Parish Life Coordinator at least six months in advance of the proposed wedding date in order to make their wedding arrangements and to participate in the marriage preparation program.


Please contact Deacon Andy Grebe at (518) 371-9632 x13,, for more information about celebrating the Sacrament of Matrimony at St. Mary’s, Crescent.

Looking for a great resource to help you with your wedding planning?  Check out this link on choosing the right music for your wedding!!  Music – For Your Marriage

Anointing of the Sick

Anointing the Sick

The Anointing of the Sick offers people strength, peace, and courage to overcome the hardships of serious illness or the increasing frailty of old age. Its grace is meant to lead primarily to healing of their spirit, and if God wills, to healing of their body.

Please contact the Parish Offices to celebrate the Sacrament of the Anointing of the Sick for the homebound, before a surgery or at any time.

We hold a network wide Anointing of the Sick annually in the fall and our Sacramental Ministers will then visit those who are not able to make it in person to offer them the Sacrament of the Anointing of the Sick. Parishioners may also contact the office at any time to confer the Sacrament of the Anointing of the Sick.

Holy Orders

Holy Orders

Through Holy Orders, men called by God are consecrated to do a particular kind of service in Christ’s name – that of leading and nourishing the Body of Christ with the word of God and the grace of the sacraments. There are three degrees, or orders, of this ministry in the Catholic church:

  • the episcopate, the order of bishops

  • the presbyterate, the order of priests

  • the diaconate, the order of deacons

Ordained ministers help the community be in touch with God and live out the mission of Jesus Christ in the world. Representing Jesus, they serve as spiritual guides to the Kingdom of God.

If you are interested in speaking with someone further about pursuing the sacrament of receiving Holy Orders, please reach out to the Diocesan Office of Vocations at 453-6690, visit or speak with the Parish Life Coordinator at 371-9632 x13.

bottom of page